The 2015 Contest Is Closed. Judging Begins Now.

Judge: Stephanie Strickland

The Marsh Hawk Press Poetry Prize

The Rochelle Ratner Memorial Prize

The Robert Creeley Memorial Prize

Deadline: April 30, 2015


For Fifteen Years: Highlighting the Breadth of Affinities Between Poetry and the Visual Arts





Marsh Hawk Press Artistic Advisory Board

Toi Derricotte
Denise Duhamel
Marilyn Hacker
Maria Mazziotti Gillan
Alicia Ostriker
Marie Ponsot
David Shapiro
Nathaniel Tarn
Anne Waldman
John Yau

In Memory of Allan Kornblum & Robert Creeley


Our titles are available for purchase by following the link on each title's Catalog page. Book stores may order in bulk here.


Copyright © 2001 - 2015 Marsh Hawk Press




A Vibrant Celebration of Poetry at Poets House on May 15th. Get the Latest News here.

Celebrating New Titles From the Press 

No Map of the Earth Includes Stars Hybred Moments KRAZY
Winner of the 2014
Marsh Hawk Press
Poetry Prize

No Map of the Earth Includes Stars

“Read this book aloud and remember how, through one’s life, we often lay awake through nights,
walk eagerly through our days, looking for answers
to echo back with the honesty of Christina
Olivares’ No Map of the
Earth Includes Stars.”
— A. Van Jordan

Hybrid Moments

“Curley’s poetry calls in
language’s magic, its errancy,
the thing that ‘sounds itself
outside itself,’ as he writes, in
his moving poem to Robert
Duncan, one of his companionate shades or shadows. Curley ‘sculpts shadows into substance,’ lovingly braiding emotion, humor and pain with independence and a sure authority.”— Michael Heller

KRAZY: Visual Poems and Performance Scripts

“Take Concrete & Futurist graphics, cross them with sound poetics& a woman’s wit, and if you’re lucky you’ll get KRAZY. For the ear, for the voice, for the eye, for the mind—Augustine’s
feminist performance calls us to full attention and restores a lost chapter of 20th c. poetics.”
— Susan Tichy

Basil King

BASIL KING: The Spoken Word/ the Painted Hand from Learning to Draw/ A History

“. . . a memoir, a manual, and a philosophical essay . . . a hair-raising page-turner and, at the same time, a sweet and reassuring journey through the working of a mind fully engaged by the mystery of the eye, the hand, and the measure of words.”  —Andrei Codrescu


Sun Stigmata


"Eileen Tabios's poems twist like silk scarves caught in the wind, offering ardent calligraphies and sly sub-versions of the passions, so many ways of naming lucidity."- Andrew Joron