Chosen by Brenda Hillman

The Marsh Hawk Press Poetry Prize

Christina Olivares
Cash Prize of $1,000 plus Publication of the Manuscript

The Rochelle Ratner Memorial Prize

Kathleen Winter
Cash Prize of $250

The Robert Creeley Memorial Prize

Jennifer Firestone
Cash Prize of $250


Bob Heman, Richard Carr, Andrew Ruzkowski, Robert McNally, Francine Sterle, Peter Waldor, Steve Myers, Elisa Karbin, Daneen Wardrop, Jan Freeman, Barbara Ungar, Jayne Benjulian, Jesse Nissim, Julie Babcock, Jeanine Deibel, Jennifer Whitten, Lisa Bickmore, J.L. Conrad, Barbara Duffey, Judith Azrael


Marsh Hawk Press Artistic Advisory Board

Toi Derricotte
Denise Duhamel
Marilyn Hacker
Allan Kornblum
Maria Mazziotti Gillan
Alicia Ostriker
Marie Ponsot
David Shapiro
Nathaniel Tarn
Anne Waldman
John Yau


Our titles are available for purchase by following the link on each title's Catalog page. Book stores may order in bulk here.



Copyright © 2014 Marsh Hawk Press




The Latest Issue of the Marsh Hawk Review is here...



New Titles From Marsh Hawk Press Fall 2014


Basil King Sun Stigmata


Basil King: The Spoken Word/ the Painted Hand from Learning to Draw/ A History

". . . a memoir, a manual, and a philosophical essay . . . a hair-raising page-turner and, at the same time, a sweet and reassuring journey through the working of a mind fully engaged by the mystery of the eye, the hand, and the measure of words."  —Andrei Codrescu



Eileen R. Tabios: SUN STIGMATA (Sculpture Poems)

"Eileen Tabios's poems twist like silk scarves caught in the wind, offering ardent calligraphies and sly sub-versions of the passions, so many ways of naming lucidity."— Andrew Joron






Travelers With No Ticket Home


New & Selected Poems

Mary Mackey:

Winner of the 2012 PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Award for Excellence in Literature 

Travelers With No Ticket Home

“Mary Mackey joins other visionary poets of dépaysement. . . recovering a lost part of herself in the edgy lyricism of the tropics, haunted by fado, forró, and death. The lines are tense with the vulnerability of lovers, strangers, and travelers with no ticket home.”—Dennis Nurkse



Winner of the 2013 Marsh Hawk Press Poetry Prize


“Tom Beckett’s stubborn refusal to turn away from the trips, traps, and trusts—disabilities and resistances—of everyday life produces poetry of epigrammatic wit and syncopating rhythms. Parapraxis here becomes a gateway to the bathetic sublime.”—Charles Bernstein, 2013 contest judge





Harriet Zinnes:
New and Selected Poems

“In [her] poems, Harriet Zinnes has dared to accept the deepest challenge of all writing: i.e. to dwell in the moment that is the seed-time of moments and in the image that rests forever within the disappearance of all images once beloved. Here is an unconditional clarity. Here are poems whose singularities are never less than complete.” —Donald Revell










Dear Hero,

Pocket Park

Joy Ride

Winner of the 2014 Whirling Prize from the University of Indianapolis

Winner of the 2012 Marsh Hawk Press Poetry Prize

Jason McCall, Dear Hero,

[Here] is a poet who walks around with a book full of lyrical needles, letting the air out of heroic balloons. —Cornelius Eady



Claudia Carlson, Pocket Park: Four seasons in poems and photos

“Brilliant originality, multi-layered poems and photographs move gracefully from dark to lighter moments inspired by a tiny Manhattan public space....a welcome pocket-sized refuge.”—Lynn Saville



Thomas Fink, Joyride

“Thomas Fink is a unique craftsman and perhaps one of the best to write poems in form—but Fink’s brilliance is his inability to tell anything straight… Fink knows how to write poems that challenge the mind, pleasure the eye, tickle the tongue, and fascinate the ear.” —Steven Karl





Our Mission

Marsh Hawk Press books highlight a wide range of affinities between poetry and the visual arts. Each volume is produced with particular care for visual style, often including artwork alongside the poems. The press sponsors readings, exhibits, an online magazine, a website with rotating photogallery space, and several blogs focused on poetry and visual art, and an annual contest judged by a poet of national stature which awards the Marsh Hawk Press book publication prize, the Marsh Hawk Press Robert Creeley Memorial Award and the Marsh Hawk Press Rochelle Ratner Memorial Prize.